Team Camarilla International Official Forum

This is the official forum for Team Camarilla International: The Bloodlines Developers
 
HomeCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Movie Review : Queen of the Damned

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
AuthorMessage
PGM1961
Antediluvian
Antediluvian


Posts : 821
Join date : 2010-07-29
Location : Texas, USA

PostSubject: Re: Movie Review : Queen of the Damned   Fri Feb 25, 2011 7:47 pm

Maxus Corvin wrote:

Well, they do have to give something up, and I think it only applies to the fact that they can't eat regular food(so why in the hell do they bother with even going to the cafeteria? Oh right, "Blending in"), they can't sleep, and they can barely control themselves when just turned(which is, I think, going way past the "Inner Beast" concept, and making them almost raging monsters from the start with no other penalty than the Volturi's judgment). Also, aside from their eyes, do they have to hide fangs or charm humans to forget they saw them? No, as apparently their teeth are very sharp without being pointed or fanged.

I didn't know that new vampires could barely control themselves. My knowledge of the series is from the trailers, and being dragged to the first movie (okay, not dragged, exactly; but someone else chose the movie, and I didn't argue). But that brings up the point that the Cullens (the clan in Twilight) are in the minority; most vampires feed on humans, and klill them afterwards to keep them from becoming vampires. So how do they keep it a secret, if new vampires are nearly uncontrollable? And how is the world not overrun with vampires, if a single bite can turn you? Never mind; forget I asked.

Sorry; this is off-topic from the sunlight question. Twilight discussion just gets me in rant mode. At least Anne Rice vampires are more logical, even though they are all artsy, emo Toreadors. Very Happy

The WODMMO cannot get here soon enough.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Childe of Malkav
Beyond Caine
Beyond Caine


Posts : 5129
Join date : 2009-11-05
Location : Bochum, Germany

PostSubject: Re: Movie Review : Queen of the Damned   Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:59 am

PGM1961 wrote:
The WODMMO cannot get here soon enough.
So you can pick up your ashtray and dustbrush and go looking after (or was it for) the pretty suckers? bom
Remember they have auspex and celerity. So it's hard to sneak up on them, and they can run like hell.
- geek

_________________
- geek

Tuesday is Soylent Green day.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
PGM1961
Antediluvian
Antediluvian


Posts : 821
Join date : 2010-07-29
Location : Texas, USA

PostSubject: Re: Movie Review : Queen of the Damned   Sat Feb 26, 2011 3:04 pm

Childe of Malkav wrote:
PGM1961 wrote:
The WODMMO cannot get here soon enough.
So you can pick up your ashtray and dustbrush and go looking after (or was it for) the pretty suckers? bom
Remember they have auspex and celerity. So it's hard to sneak up on them, and they can run like hell.

No, no... I have no desire to hunt Toreador. The Nosferatu amd Malkavians derive too much pleasure out of making Torries miserable; I would never rob them of that.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Zer0Morph
Caine
Caine


Posts : 4245
Join date : 2009-09-10
Age : 37
Location : United States

PostSubject: Re: Movie Review : Queen of the Damned   Sat Feb 26, 2011 3:13 pm

PGM,

You gotta remember that both Twilight and The Vampire Chronicles were written by women, so they are both coming from a feminine perspective, which would explain why the vampires both male and female act feminine; emotional, void of logic and common sense. In fact the Sookie Stackhouse novels, which is the basis for the show True Blood, was written by Charlaine Harris, another female. Once again, more feminine, artsy fartsy, vampires running around being emotional.

If these books/movies were written by men, they would have rules, logic, common sense to how it all worked. In other words, both books/movies would've worked alot more like the WoD than how they are now. Look at the authors of Vampire the Masquerade... their almost all male.

Not being sexist, it's just a simple fact that men and women are different, and more and more women are writing about Vampires in modern day which is why we've seen such an emotional influx of vampire books/movies lately.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://camarillaedition.darkbb.com
PGM1961
Antediluvian
Antediluvian


Posts : 821
Join date : 2010-07-29
Location : Texas, USA

PostSubject: Re: Movie Review : Queen of the Damned   Sat Feb 26, 2011 6:15 pm

I've read a few of the Charlaine Harris books, and there isn't as much sex as there is in the TV show. Boy, you can certainly tell it's HBO, can't you?

I'm not going to say that the female-written stories are 'devoid of logic and common sense', because I don't want Eliza and Claudia to kill me off in the TCI game before I even start playing. Very Happy Besides, in Vampire: the Masquerade, vampires are still very emotional -- it's just more negative. Hatred and anger are much more common than love and tenderness, perhaps because they are easier to sustain over the span of years. People fall out of love all the time; but how often do you hear of someone falling out of hate?

Of course, if you think True Blood has a lot of sex, you should read the Sleeping Beauty Trilogy, written by Anne Rice under a pseudonym. No vampires, but holy crap! It's like a medieval BDSM fantasy. NOT for kids. Her vampire novels are almost tame next to that stuff. I'll bet some of the ladies have read it, though. Wink
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Zer0Morph
Caine
Caine


Posts : 4245
Join date : 2009-09-10
Age : 37
Location : United States

PostSubject: Re: Movie Review : Queen of the Damned   Sat Feb 26, 2011 6:23 pm

Speaking of Anne Rice, did you know that she became a Christian? I guess she won't be writing anymore sex novels.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://camarillaedition.darkbb.com
Childe of Malkav
Beyond Caine
Beyond Caine


Posts : 5129
Join date : 2009-11-05
Location : Bochum, Germany

PostSubject: Re: Movie Review : Queen of the Damned   Sat Feb 26, 2011 7:14 pm

Zer0Morph wrote:
Speaking of Anne Rice, did you know that she became a Christian? I guess she won't be writing anymore sex novels.
I don't know about that. Or does christian mean one of the fundamentalist sects that would get thrown out of the taliban for being too medieval in their worldview?

For True Blood. I'm still only in the first season, but it seems to be mostly a softporn with tiny little fangs lol!

_________________
- geek

Tuesday is Soylent Green day.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Rudest
Ancillae
Ancillae


Posts : 79
Join date : 2010-09-29

PostSubject: Re: Movie Review : Queen of the Damned   Sat Feb 26, 2011 7:18 pm

I think she did that because of Katrina if Im not mistaken? Suppose that makes her another casualty.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
ThePhilosopher
Caine's Progeny
Caine's Progeny


Posts : 1577
Join date : 2010-08-17
Location : Brazil

PostSubject: Re: Movie Review : Queen of the Damned   Sat Feb 26, 2011 7:35 pm

Childe of Malkav wrote:

For True Blood. I'm still only in the first season, but it seems to be mostly a softporn with tiny little fangs lol!

Pretty much my view on it. people go on and on talking about how the third season is awesome and all, but i don't want to watch 2 entire seasons of fanged softporn to get there Razz

On anne rice, well whatever

Rudest, you considering someone to be a casuality because they became a christian made me laugh. One of the biggest pwnages i've ever seen Razz
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Zer0Morph
Caine
Caine


Posts : 4245
Join date : 2009-09-10
Age : 37
Location : United States

PostSubject: Re: Movie Review : Queen of the Damned   Sat Feb 26, 2011 7:36 pm

Rudest wrote:
I think she did that because of Katrina if Im not mistaken? Suppose that makes her another casualty.

Another casualty?
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://camarillaedition.darkbb.com
8people
Antediluvian
Antediluvian


Posts : 524
Join date : 2009-11-07
Age : 27
Location : England

PostSubject: Re: Movie Review : Queen of the Damned   Sat Feb 26, 2011 9:38 pm

Zer0, you cheeky bastard :p Maybe American women have emotional difficulties and complete lack of logic but I assure you the British and European women certainly have command of all of their faculties.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
z.o.o.
Methuselah
Methuselah


Posts : 281
Join date : 2010-01-06
Age : 35
Location : United States

PostSubject: Re: Movie Review : Queen of the Damned   Sat Feb 26, 2011 11:35 pm

8people wrote:
Zer0, you cheeky bastard :p Maybe American women have emotional difficulties and complete lack of logic but I assure you the British and European women certainly have command of all of their faculties.

Heh-heh-heh. Nice save.

"How do you write women so well?"

"I think of a man and then I take away reason, and accountability."

lol!

From the film, "As Good as it Gets."

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Childe of Malkav
Beyond Caine
Beyond Caine


Posts : 5129
Join date : 2009-11-05
Location : Bochum, Germany

PostSubject: Re: Movie Review : Queen of the Damned   Sun Feb 27, 2011 4:07 am

8people wrote:
Zer0, you cheeky bastard :p Maybe American women have emotional difficulties and complete lack of logic but I assure you the British and European women certainly have command of all of their faculties.

Ah, I always thought so. British don't consider themselves European. Cool
Well that's probably what living on an Island and driving on the wrong side of the road does to you Wink

- geek

_________________
- geek

Tuesday is Soylent Green day.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
8people
Antediluvian
Antediluvian


Posts : 524
Join date : 2009-11-07
Age : 27
Location : England

PostSubject: Re: Movie Review : Queen of the Damned   Sun Feb 27, 2011 11:43 am

You should see the Manx!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Zer0Morph
Caine
Caine


Posts : 4245
Join date : 2009-09-10
Age : 37
Location : United States

PostSubject: Re: Movie Review : Queen of the Damned   Sun Feb 27, 2011 12:05 pm

Childe of Malkav wrote:


Ah, I always thought so. British don't consider themselves European. Cool
Well that's probably what living on an Island and driving on the wrong side of the road does to you Wink

- geek

I thought everyone from Europe drove on the wrong side of the road. That's just Brittain? scratch
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://camarillaedition.darkbb.com
Eliza
Antediluvian
Antediluvian


Posts : 612
Join date : 2010-04-16
Location : Warsaw

PostSubject: Re: Movie Review : Queen of the Damned   Sun Feb 27, 2011 12:09 pm

Zer0Morph wrote:
I thought everyone from Europe drove on the wrong side of the road. That's just Brittain? scratch

The people that do this in Europe are called 'Geisterfahrer' in Germany, ghost-drivers, because if they do it too long, they are certainly not going to be driving in their bodies any longer. Wink

Otherwise, just ... lol. This thread is like a sitcom. It's fun to watch/read. Go on, please! *takes out some popcorn*

_________________
"... And the lord set a mark upon Caine lest any finding him should kill him and the mark was ..."

TAXI CO.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Childe of Malkav
Beyond Caine
Beyond Caine


Posts : 5129
Join date : 2009-11-05
Location : Bochum, Germany

PostSubject: Re: Movie Review : Queen of the Damned   Sun Feb 27, 2011 3:31 pm

Eliza wrote:
Zer0Morph wrote:
I thought everyone from Europe drove on the wrong side of the road. That's just Brittain? scratch

The people that do this in Europe are called 'Geisterfahrer' in Germany, ghost-drivers, because if they do it too long, they are certainly not going to be driving in their bodies any longer. Wink
Trouble is, more often than getting themselves killed, they hurt someone else who tries to evade them.

Quote :
Otherwise, just ... lol. This thread is like a sitcom. It's fun to watch/read. Go on, please! *takes out some popcorn*
So you're the played in laughter?

_________________
- geek

Tuesday is Soylent Green day.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Zer0Morph
Caine
Caine


Posts : 4245
Join date : 2009-09-10
Age : 37
Location : United States

PostSubject: Re: Movie Review : Queen of the Damned   Sun Feb 27, 2011 3:41 pm

8people wrote:
Zer0, you cheeky bastard :p Maybe American women have emotional difficulties and complete lack of logic but I assure you the British and European women certainly have command of all of their faculties.

I've been desperately searching for a good comeback and simply can't find one. 8people, you win this round, but beware my vengeance. ! Razz
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://camarillaedition.darkbb.com
8people
Antediluvian
Antediluvian


Posts : 524
Join date : 2009-11-07
Age : 27
Location : England

PostSubject: Re: Movie Review : Queen of the Damned   Sun Feb 27, 2011 4:42 pm

Wink

Brits drive on the Left, there are a few other countries that do but most euro countries drive on the Right.

Generally Britain and Europe does have a bit of a schism, culturally the continent has some key differences from general britishness. Whilst the different countries in Europe are very distinct and rich, you can see some blurring particularly on the borders. Whereas Britain you only have to go 'oop north' or 'down south' and there's a massive difference. Islander cultures evolve differently from continental ones.

Kinda like you'll get comedians from europe and america and their audiences will respond fairly similar to each one, toss in a few brits and the reactions tend to get a bit disparate. The british comic tends to have a repetoire of piss-taking jokes that many will take offense to without realising that there is no offence, british humour tends to apply expectations of the self and others in a similar light, we'll make fun of ourselves, our best friends, our worst enemies, all in the same way.

Dads' Army, a TV show about well... the Dads' Army during WWII is a comedy that shows a group of elderly gentlemen and one too young to join the military defending the hometown usually in hyperbolic situations in an almost slapstick manner. It was showin in Canada and the audience were APPALLED that these british people were making fun of these heroes that defended their homes! clown

Oh, and Zer0, I have a comeback you could use, it's called 'Essex'
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Childe of Malkav
Beyond Caine
Beyond Caine


Posts : 5129
Join date : 2009-11-05
Location : Bochum, Germany

PostSubject: Re: Movie Review : Queen of the Damned   Mon Feb 28, 2011 3:57 am

Hey 8,
don't say I have anything in common with a Bavarian! That's about the worst thing you can say to a German, except if they actually are from Bavaria. Wink

Well for comedies. Personally I prefer the british sense of humor. Remember the "killing joke" from Monty Pythons Flying Circus? (Btw, the python programming language is named after them, not after some reptile)

- geek

_________________
- geek

Tuesday is Soylent Green day.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Rudest
Ancillae
Ancillae


Posts : 79
Join date : 2010-09-29

PostSubject: Re: Movie Review : Queen of the Damned   Mon Feb 28, 2011 4:13 am

Childe of Malkav wrote:
Rudest, you considering someone to be a casuality because they became a christian made me laugh. One of the biggest pwnages i've ever seen Razz

lololol but it's truuuuuuuueeeee
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Childe of Malkav
Beyond Caine
Beyond Caine


Posts : 5129
Join date : 2009-11-05
Location : Bochum, Germany

PostSubject: Re: Movie Review : Queen of the Damned   Mon Feb 28, 2011 4:28 am

Rudest wrote:
Childe of Malkav wrote:
Rudest, you considering someone to be a casuality because they became a christian made me laugh. One of the biggest pwnages i've ever seen Razz

lololol but it's truuuuuuuueeeee

Rudest, that's not my quote. (nevermind though)
So what does that mean? Christianity is some kind of horrible affliction?
Well if you're talking about the official catholic church, or some (all) of the more fundamentalist sects, I'll back you up there.

Probably I have to don the insignia of the "Holy" Inquisition and come after you cursed creatures of the night sunny

- geek

_________________
- geek

Tuesday is Soylent Green day.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Rudest
Ancillae
Ancillae


Posts : 79
Join date : 2010-09-29

PostSubject: Re: Movie Review : Queen of the Damned   Mon Feb 28, 2011 4:37 am

lmao oops. I quoted the Philospher, but I erased the part where he quotes you but left your prefix instead of his -facepalms-


I've never liked christianity. That religion has been picked up, modified, changed hands, manipulated sooo many times throughout history. The difference between the new testiment god and the old testimant god are insanely different. Old testimant is a wrathful fear-mongering god who destroyed entire cities, caused plagues, famine, floods, and turned a woman into a pillar of salt for some random reason. I think it was engineered to scare people into beleiving it. Lest god turn you into some random spice for your blasphemy!

And then the new testiment god is forgiving, and loving, and caring, and about redemption. Where did the scary metaphysical omnipotent abusive father figure side of god go? I thought he was omniscent, knew all, forsees all, is at the top of the top, the pinnacle of what a being could possibly ever be---and yet he grows and evolves into this completely different character? No. That makes no sense.

The religion has been used to insight so much hate. It's been used as a tool to control people. The same can be said for other religions I guess.. But I think its christianity's proximity to me that has caused my disdain. You see all these fake conceited church goers with their shiny new cars and church panes. Their glamour. All they go to church for is to brag, and talk shit about each other. "LoL did you hear? The Smith girl is a lesbian, my lord, we are so much more pious than them, they are all going straight to hell." That's kind of an exaggeration, but, these people act like dicks to everyone. To each other. Then they go to church on sunday and play pretend--arrogant enough that their lies will even fool their false impotent god.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
PGM1961
Antediluvian
Antediluvian


Posts : 821
Join date : 2010-07-29
Location : Texas, USA

PostSubject: Re: Movie Review : Queen of the Damned   Mon Feb 28, 2011 7:20 am

Now, don't sugarcoat it... tell us what you really think.

lol!

I stopped going to church about 17, because of all the hypocrisy I saw around me. I do still believe in God, or some sort of force underlying everything -- but I won't go into all my beliefs here. However, I don't believe all gays are going to hell... and I certainly don't believe all Christians are going to heaven.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
simison
Elder
Elder


Posts : 239
Join date : 2010-09-30
Location : US

PostSubject: Re: Movie Review : Queen of the Damned   Mon Feb 28, 2011 10:55 am

Rudest, have you studied the Old and New Testaments?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Movie Review : Queen of the Damned   Today at 3:51 am

Back to top Go down
 
Movie Review : Queen of the Damned
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 2 of 4Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 Similar topics
-
» Movie Review : Queen of the Damned
» Movie Review: "We are the Night"
» Codex: Orks review from Dakka Dakka
» New Dairy Queen Bears!
» Favorite Movie Quotes

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Team Camarilla International Official Forum :: Team Camarilla International Forum :: The TCI Community Dark Room-
Jump to: